Google
 
Message Board
Register  |   |   |  Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
reeddjk

Registered:
Posts: 1
Reply with quote  #1 
At the 2015 world series in Salisbury our pitcher threw a pitch in which the batter actually stepped into the pitch in which her foot was on home plate. the umpire awarded her first base. Our coach argued she stepped into it and also stepped out of the batter's box. He still said she was hit by pitch. Is there a specific rule that states that she should be awarded a base regardless if she is out of box or Not?

We also had an incident where a runner on secondbase collided with our short stop who was making an attempt to field the ball and no interference call was made and when the field umpire was questioned why he said "there was no way she was going to field that ball". I didn't think it was an umpires job too decide if a player is physically capable too make a play just make sure the player is safely given a chance to.

AnYone shed done light on these two plAys?
BaysideBreeze_12UMills

Registered:
Posts: 10
Reply with quote  #2 
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeddjk
At the 2015 world series in Salisbury our pitcher threw a pitch in which the batter actually stepped into the pitch in which her foot was on home plate. the umpire awarded her first base. Our coach argued she stepped into it and also stepped out of the batter's box. He still said she was hit by pitch. Is there a specific rule that states that she should be awarded a base regardless if she is out of box or Not?

We also had an incident where a runner on secondbase collided with our short stop who was making an attempt to field the ball and no interference call was made and when the field umpire was questioned why he said "there was no way she was going to field that ball". I didn't think it was an umpires job too decide if a player is physically capable too make a play just make sure the player is safely given a chance to.

AnYone shed done light on these two plAys?

__________________
Kelley Mills
maryland_uic

Maryland State Umpire In Chief
Registered:
Posts: 143
Reply with quote  #3 
The batter can not intentionally move to get hit by the pitch.
If it is judged she does, the ball is dead and rule a ball or strike depending on the location of the pitch.

Otherwise unless the ball is a strike or swung at, the batter is awarded first base if hit by a pitched ball.
It does not matter if the batter's feet are in or out of the batter's box.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:


Create your own forum with Website Toolbox!