Google
 
Message Board
Register  |   |   |  Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
SavageSoftball

Registered:
Posts: 3
Reply with quote  #1 

The situation is there is a runner on 2nd base.  The runner on 2nd base tries to steal 3rd. As the catcher tries to throw the ball to 3rd base to get her out, the batter takes her left foot and steps outside the batter’s box (right foot is still inside the batter’s box) and obstructs the throw to 3rd.  Is this considered to be interference of the batter on the catcher? Or since the batter still has one foot in the batter's box is she conssider in the batter's box and there is no interference.

Thanks

maryland_uic

Maryland State Umpire In Chief
Registered:
Posts: 143
Reply with quote  #2 
The batter may not interfere by stepping out of the batter's box.
EFFECT: Dead ball, batter is out and runner returns to 2nd base.
Rule Ref: 7.12 & 8.16.C
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:


Create your own forum with Website Toolbox!