Registered: 1343126929 Posts: 323
Reply with quote #1
I want to get some clarification on the rules regarding catcher's interference call in a game.
The situation in the game was this: Runner on third with 2 outs. Player up to bat makes contact and reaches first safely and the runner on third scored. There was no indication of obstruction on the catcher. After the play, the home plate umpire talks with the field umpire, and then calls obstruction. Awards first to the batter (which already reached safely on her own as a result of the batted ball) and sent the runner who score back to third. Rule 8, Section 4-E states: "The coach or captain of the team at bat, after being informed by the Plate Umpire of the obstruction, shall indicate to the Umpire whether they elect to accept the result of the play or to accept the penalty of awarding the batter first base and advancing all other runners only if forced." and "Obstruction of the batter (before the batter has become a batter-runner) is ignored if the batter-runner reaches first and all other runners advance at least one base." In either portion of the rule, the result of the play should have stood, correct? Either by given the choice to select the result of the play or because the batter reached first safely on her own.
Registered: 1308799190 Posts: 145
Reply with quote #2
What likely occurred, based on your description, is the catcher must have interfered with the batter. Likely her glove hit the bat during the swing. It is a delayed dead ball call. Since the batter reached first base safely and the only other runner on base advance one base and scored, no further action would be necessary. The umpire should not have sent the runner back to third. So, you are correct.
Maryland State Umpire In Chief
Registered: 1177932641 Posts: 143
Reply with quote #3
"Obstruction of the batter (before the batter has become a batter-runner) is ignored if the batter-runner reaches first and all other runners advance at least one base."